New Details For The Amazing Spider-Man Revealed By Screenwriter Steve Kloves

After Sony decided to ditch a fourth installment in director Sam Raimi’s Spider-Man franchise, a reboot with director Marc Webb.  Now with Andrew Garfield taking over the role of Peter Parker/Spider-Man from Tobey Maguire.  Now we have some new details regarding the reboot christened with the title The Amazing Spider-Man

While speaking to Collider, Amazing Spider-Man screen writer Steve Kloves gave some interesting new details about the movie, such as how they are approaching the reboot:

“I think it’s really their game, but you actually hit on something that was my concern. I said, ‘I can’t do ‘shazam!’ dialogue, that’s not what I do. If you wanna do the Peter Parker I knew as a kid reading the comic book, I can do that, because it was grounded in exactly what you said, reality.’ So they said ‘Yes that’s what we want, we want you to come in and write Peter Parker as a real character.’ I have to say, I went back and watched the first 15 minutes of the first Spider-Man…what was impressive about Tobey’s take was, Tobey’s kind of a happy nerd. Like, he’s a nerd but he seems kind of happy about it, he’s taking pictures of Kirsten Dunst and he’s weirdly cheeky and kind of forward, and it kind of works in a way. But Sam Raimi has that style that I think dovetailed to that pretty well, but it’s a different time. I couldn’t have done those movies. So I don’t know how this is gonna turn out, but I wrote this very, very naturalistically. A lot of humor, but naturalistic humor, not jokes. But really trying to make them seem like real characters. I think Peter Parker’s a great character, and I certainly think Emma’s character is a fantastic character, Gwen. I wouldn’t have done it if they wanted me to do, ‘Hey look in the sky!’ I don’t know how to do that, I can’t do that. I realize that’s the wrong character but…”

We also got to find out why Kloves denied the job of writing the films potential sequel:

“They had talked to me about doing the second one when I was doing it, and no I didn’t wanna—I sort of dated it, I don’t wanna marry it. I will tell you this though, Mark Webb, I saw some of his pre-vises, and what impressed me about Mark Webb’s pre-vises was that they were really coherent, you could follow the action. There’s sometimes guys who do that stuff and it’s like eye-candy, but you have no idea what you’re watching. With this, what I saw in the pre-vises, Mark had designed it in such a way that you were really following Spider-Man as he was engaging in these action sequences, and it made it much more thrilling because you felt you were with him. So I have some hopes for it. I mean look, you’ve got Andrew Garfield and Emma Stone, it’s a really good cast, and I know they want it to be good. And it was a real reboot, that’s the other thing, when I came on I said, ‘I don’t wanna ape what Sam and Tobey did,’ and they said ‘No we’re really rebooting it.’ And so that’s when I came in and did what I did, which again was primarily character and dialogue.”

With an all star cast that includes Andrew Garfield as Spider-Man, Emma Stone as Gwen Stacy, Denis Leary as Captain George Stacy, Rhys Ifans as Curt Connors, Martin Sheen as Uncle Ben and Sally Field as Aunt May, The Amazing Spider-Man is set to be released in 3D on July 3, 2012!

Leave a Reply

