Ryan Reynolds Says R.I.P.D. Is Setup For A Possible Sequel

The same man that promised us a sequel to Green Lantern and a solo Deadpool flick now admits his upcoming supernatural comic based movie, R.I.P.D. is set up for a possible sequel…. 

With his upcoming action packed thriller/Denzel Washington team up, Safe House hitting theaters in the next few weeks, actor Ryan Reynolds has been talking about other upcoming projects during the promoting.  Reynolds recently wrapped filming on R.I.P.D. from such a short distance away from me that it shamed me that I did not go take some set photos; the flick having filmed in my neighboring city of Boston for several months.

While attending a press Junket in New York only several hours after leaving Boston, Reynolds was asked about any possible sequels:  “I’m hoping to be able to work with all those people again,” Reynolds said to The Playlist. “It could be a franchise. It certainly is set up, plot-wise, for a sequel. But nobody’s signed on for that just yet. We would like it to be [a film series.]”

R.I.P.D. also stars Jeff Bridges, Kevin Bacon and Mary-Louise Parker; it will hit theaters June 28th, 2013.

The Dark Horse comic R.I.P.D. is adapted by Universal Pictures with this fantasy crime film focusing on a newly deceased cop (Ryan Reynolds) who’s drafted into a squad of zombie cops that battle the supernatural. Red’s Robert Schwentke directs, with Jeff Bridges co-starring as his partner and Kevin Bacon playing the villain.

Leave a Reply

